Ancient Suffolk Oaks

Our guest blogger today is Paul Dixon, a photographer who, along with his other work, uses his images to raise awareness of humanitarian and environmental issues…

“I’m not usually one for blogging, however when I was invited to write a guest blog about a recent photography project, it was an offer I couldn’t refuse.

Growing up in the countryside of Suffolk I have had a long held affinity with trees, and have been planting acorns and conkers on and off since about the age of 5. So it is only natural that this affinity has influenced other areas of my life.

I’m a photographer with a particular interest in humanitarian and environmental issues, although I have never directly focused my attention on trees before. That was until I returned to live in the countryside, which just so happened to coincide with the gradual increase in the reporting of diseases affecting our native tree species. Impressed with the bare forms of naked trees throughout the winter months, I now had the perfect excuse to justify a project on the magnificent ancient oaks that can be found locally to me.

Ancient Suffolk Oaks is an ongoing and ever evolving project with which I hope to help raise awareness of the importance yet vulnerability of our trees, in this case ancient oaks. Of the 44 trees photographed to date, 20% have displayed signs of the black weeping patches that are associated with Acute Oak Decline.

A selection of the photographs will be exhibited at the Alde Valley Spring Festival, in Suffolk, from 20th April to 19th May. They will also be available to view on my website.

 Image: Paul Dixon

Ancient Oak, Staverton Park, Tree No.00860

I would just like to finish this, my first ever blog, by thanking both Kay Haw and Jill Butler at The Woodland Trust for generously giving me their time and assistance.”

Paul Dixon, Photographer (and lover of trees)

Our Trees Need Help – click here to see our other blog posts on tree diseases and activities to address this.

About Kay Haw

Assistant Conservation Adviser, Woodland Trust. Nature is my passion, especially woods and trees which are just amazing elements of life. One day (soon) I hope we humans learn to work in harmony with Mother Earth.
This entry was posted in Conservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ancient Suffolk Oaks

  1. David McCormick says:

    Beautiful old oak! Living in Co Down in Northern Ireland, the oldest oak trees I have seen are a pair of 400 year old oak trees in a Nature reserve, but there isn’t many much older trees here as far as I know, but I have seen big oak trees (100-250 years old) in parts of Co Down.

  2. Margaret Redford says:

    How poignant for us in North Wales that you should feature ancient oaks, as we have just lost our wonderful 1000+ oak in the recent gales.

  3. thehutts says:

    What a beautiful Oak! Living up in the North of England we don’t see Oaks this big but I did when I was growing up in the Midlands. Sally

  4. Clive Coles says:

    Staverton Park ~ it must hold some of the oldest Oaks in our County of Suffolk. Interestingly many of the Oaks have Holly bushes growing above ground from the point of the pollarding. The woodland has been managed since Tudor times. It is privately owned. If you want to wander through the area best get permission. When I visited, on a pre-authorised walk lead by the County Council Woodland Officer, we were challenged by a guy with a shotgun ! One of the rarely visited Suffolk gems.

    Did try to view the link to the website containing more photo’s ~ link seems to be currently broken

Sorry, comments are closed as we have moved to a new site: https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blogs/woodland-trust/

